Texas state law requires drivers to have a minimum amount of liability insurance to cover injuries and damages caused by the driver. Many drivers choose to have coverage that is more extensive; there is no maximum coverage amount.
Minimum Passenger Car Insurance Coverage Needed In Houston
The minimum amount of liability insurance coverage required for Houston drivers is currently $30,000 worth of bodily injury coverage per person, $60,000 per accident and $25,000 worth of property damage coverage per accident. This minimum required coverage is called 30/60/25 coverage.
Houston has slightly over two million residents according to the 2010 U.S. Census and 701,549 of these residents commute to work alone each day. Approximately 120,000 more residents carpooled with other commuters, making automobiles the primary form of transportation in the city. In Harris County, where Houston accounts for the majority of the population, the average commuter who drives to work has a 25 minute one way commute.
According to the Texas Department of Transportation, there were 38,538 vehicle accidents on Houston’s 16,000 miles of streets in 2011 with only 23,390 of these accidents resulting in no injuries.
Uninsured Houston Drivers
According to the Texas Department of Insurance, as of December 2012, Harris County had 3,079,287 total vehicle registrations. In 466,721 cases, no insurance coverage was present. This means that approximately 15.16 percent of the drivers on Houston’s roadways do not have the mandatory insurance coverage.
What Happens To Uninsured Drivers in Houston?
Law enforcement personnel can quickly check if a Houston driver has the mandatory liability insurance coverage to operate his or her vehicle. If a driver is found driving without insurance, the fine for a first offense is $175 to $350, and the fines get progressively higher for second and third offenses. In addition, drivers who are caught driving without insurance for the second or third time may have their driver’s license suspended or their vehicle impounded.
The minimum liability insurance coverage in Houston is only the bare minimum required to drive legally. Houston residents who financed their vehicles may have to purchase additional insurance to meet the terms of their agreement with the finance company.