Laws and Regulations for Car Insurance in Houston, Texas
Have you recently moved to Houston, Texas, bought a driver’s license, got a car, but have no idea what to do about your car insurance? We will tell you from the start that car insurance is essential, not only for your own safety, but also for that of people around you. According to Texas regulations, you must purchase and maintain your car insurance as an indication of your financial responsibility, and why wouldn’t you? The120 dollars you pay every month to keep your family and self safe, is a lot better than destroying your entire budget in one accident. Did you know that in Texas you can get a discount for auto insurance simply by taking a drug and alcohol awareness course? You probably didn’t. Here’s the breakdown of Texas laws and regulations, and tips for car insurance in Houston that you should be aware about.
Minimum Coverage Levels and Additional Insurance:
As is the case with other states, Texas also has a minimum coverage level for auto insurance policy that you must meet. However, in most cases this sum is not enough for serious accidents. Insurance experts advise drivers to buy extra insurance, even if the state laws do not require it. Because Texas is a tort state, chances are that someone will be found liable in case of accidents (he will have to pay damages and bodily injuries). So if you are hit by an uninsured person, you will have to pay more than your insurance contains. Here is the minimum coverage level:
- $30,000 in bodily injury coverage per person
- $60,000 in bodily injury coverage total per incident
- $25,000 in property damage coverage per incident
Other Car Insurance Packages
Even if you are not obliged by the law to purchase extra insurance, we strongly recommend that you consider one of the following coverages, which will offer you more security:
- Comprehensive coverage will protect your car in situations when it is not damaged in a collision. In other words, if something like hail dents appear on it, the damages will be covered by the comprehensive coverage.
- The Uninsured/Under-insured drivers coverage is one of the best options that you can consider. Approximately 20% of Texas drivers are not insured, so you should protect yourself from damages caused by them with the UDC.
- Medical / Personal Injury Coverage will provide protection for your passengers. If you often travel with your family, you will definitely need it. Regardless of the person who was responsible for the accident, you will have the medical bills covered by insurance. Don’t use it if you have comprehensive medical insurance.
- GAP Insurance stands for Guaranteed Auto Protection and it comes into play when you buy a new car that you are still paying for. If your car is totaled or stolen, your insurance company will give you the liable difference.
Texas Automobile Insurance Plan Association
It is not only car insurance companies that need the go from possible clients. Clients also need to meet some requirements to be accepted by an insurance company. If two companies refuse to insure you, you can buy a car insurance through the Texas Automobile Insurance Plan Association (TAIPA). To be eligible for TAIPA you must have a driver’s license, have a car registered in Texas/live in Texas, and certify that 2 insurance companies have turned you down in the last 60 days.
$2,500 Personal Injury Protection.
- Uninsured/Underinsured Motorists Coverage of:
- $30,000 personal injury.
- $60,000 injuries per incident.
- $25,000 property damage.